Tags

, ,

This recipe is one that I have eaten since I was about 6 months old. No, I wasn’t making it then (ha), but my mom was. And it was SO GOOD! Every time I eat it, I am just reminded of my childhood. I hope maybe your kids can get the enjoyment out of this heart-warming meal as well.

Chipped Beef Gravy

Ingredients:

1/2 stick butter

1/3 c. flour

pepper

1 1/2 c. milk

1/2 c. water

1 can Armour dried beef

Directions:

Put your butter in a frying pan and melt on high.

Then put your flour in the butter and whisk. Let the flour get a little brown (just barely).

Mix your milk and water together and pour into mixture and whisk. Bring to boil. Turn burner on to medium/low and let cook until thickened. Add pepper to your taste. Meanwhile, cut up your chipped beef into 1/2 squares.

I like to use this kind of chipped beef. Don't rinse it, the salt makes the gravy tastier.

After you have cut them all up, put them in your gravy. Stir.

If the gravy starts getting too thick, then add a little bit of water. Serve over toast!