Tags

, ,

Last night was our (Caitlin, Miranda and I) last class in the Wilton Cake Decorating Basics class.  I was a little stressed this weekend because I was making a 50th Birthday cake for my aunt along with preparing for my class this Monday night. So Sunday night I made my two-layer tiered cake along with 2 batches of icing. I colored my stiff icing pink for my roses and finished my crumb coat on my cakes and the final icing.

When we got to class, we were told to make roses. I made 12.

After our roses were made, we were to start practicing our writing skills with icing. (I had also already wrote on my 50th birthday cake, so I got some practice!)

For a full hour and a half we got to decorate on our cakes! I was so happy about that! I love just letting myself go and put all of my efforts into decorating! Such a stress relief for me! Here is my final product!

Here are pictures of everyone in our class’ cakes. I think everyone did so good!

This one looked like a pillow! So cute!

This was the pro in our class!

This was one from the book! Turned out quite similar!

Miranda's cake. Miss Perfection. :)

And mine...

Vibrant colors!

Caitlin's cake!

First cakes...there were many!

Here is all of us receiving our Wilton Cake Basics I certifications!

Close up of my roses

And of course I had to take a pic once I got it home. :)

I had so much fun in this class and encourage anyone to take it! It is a wonderful learning experience and it’s even better when you have a few friends to share the experience with! I am looking forward to baking many more cakes in the future and hopefully (fingers crossed) owning my own bakery one of these days!!

…look for Cake III, Fondant and Gum Paste, to be coming up in April. ;)

